ALA Midwinter 2015 in the Books

Last weekendm I attended ALA Midwinter in Chicago, and, I must say, it was a really good conference for me! I attended some interesting sessions, which ranged from panels to programs to roundtable discussions. Topics ranged from electronic resources to middle management issues to leadership development. I also enjoyed seeing colleagues from previous jobs as well as from Duke, as well as librarians I’ve met at previous conferences. Meal times turned into a great time to catch up with old friends and meet new people. (For two different meals, I shared a table with librarians I met “in the moment,” who also needed a place to sit. Loved that serendipity!)

Snow Outside McCormick Place, Chicago

Snow Outside McCormick Place, Chicago

On Sunday, a big snow came in, dumping a number of inches of the white stuff on the ground! Fortunately, I stayed in the Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, which is connected to the convention center, also called McCormick Place. I was glad to be able to stay inside for my conference activities, since I’m not a polar bear! The snow was lovely, though!

I didn’t get to do any tourist activities this time, as I’d hoped, but I look forward to returning to Chicago in the future!

One of several highlights of my trip happened Friday morning, while I was waiting at the gate at the Raleigh-Durham International Airport for my airplane. I recognized Garrison Keillor walk by and have a seat at my gate! I texted George, who encouraged me to say hello to him. I did, and he shook my hand. It was over in a flash, but it was fun to meet him!

Leave a Reply

