Learning Italian

italyAs a new MLS-holder, I’ve been thinking about skills that I can learn or improve on that would enhance my professional development. After looking over some job postings recently, one of the common skills I noticed was knowledge of a foreign language. I took French and German in high school, and French, German, and a semester of biblical Hebrew in college, but all of that was “a while ago!” I’ve considered restarting one of those languages, but haven’t been inspired to continue. I decided to pick a new-to-me language, and have recently started working on Italian.

Why Italian, you ask? Italy’s a country I’d love to visit! I also love Italian food. Plus, there’s so much culture (music, art, literature) and history tied to Italy!

So, I’ve started by trying out a few iPhone apps with Italian vocabulary, flashcards, and games. My library offers the foreign language learning database Transparent, and I’m using Duolingo (thanks to a recommendation on Twitter) as well. I’ve also downloaded an iPhone app called WordPower, that’s associated with ItalianPod101.com. For extra inspiration, I’ve started reading the book, La Bella Lingua: My Love Affair with Italian, the World’s Most Enchanting Language.

How’s it going so far? My progress is slow but sure. Will I ever become fluent? Realistically, it’s hard to say. But it’s fun learning something new!

Leave a Reply

