My First ALA Election

money-bag-greenI ran in my first American Library Association (ALA) election this year, for the position of New Members Round Table (NMRT) Treasurer-elect. Results were announced on Friday, and I’m happy to report that I won! In the spirit of full disclosure, I didn’t have an opponent, but there was a place for voters to add a write-in candidate, and there was one (I don’t know who). So, I came away with 99.6% of the vote, which is okay! 🙂

My term starts this July 1, and will last three years: one year as treasurer-elect, then two years as treasurer. I’m looking forward to working with the rest of the NMRT board, and will learn all I can about taking good care of the NMRT budget. I’ll attend ALA Annual this summer in Orlando, where I’ll get to sit in on some NMRT meetings as an observer, and hopefully meet the current NMRT treasurer.

 

Leave a Reply

