ALA Midwinter 2017

I’m back from ALA Midwinter 2017 in Atlanta, where I had a really good conference experience! Atlanta was a busy place this past weekend, with Midwinter, the local Women’s March, and an NFL Playoff game between the Atlanta Falcons and the Green Bay Packers in the Georgia Dome, right next door to our convention center! I enjoyed the extra buzz and energy in the city!

gaaq

Small Aquarium in Georgia Aquarium

Most of my meetings and activities were related to NMRT (the ALA New Members Round Table), but I also enjoyed the Elsevier Networking Reception Sunday night at the Georgia Aquarium. As part of the reception, we got to walk around on a self-guided tour, where I saw several people I know and met a fellow Duke alum who works for Elsevier now. One of my favorite parts of the Aquarium was watching the beluga whales, though my photos of them didn’t turn out well.

I also had lunch with a couple of colleagues, which was fun! On Sunday, I ate with a former library school classmate, and we hit the food court at the CNN Center, just before the pre-game influx of Falcon and Packer fans!

This conference experience was a little different for me, as I took my walker with me for assistance with my healing foot sprain. Having a walker for the conference gave me a different perspective on how things (like public restrooms and hotel rooms) are laid out for people with mobility issues. I also had to build in some extra rest time, so I missed some programs I would’ve enjoyed going to. I’m looking forward to the ALA Annual Conference this summer in Chicago!

Leave a Reply

